I have to admit, I am going to have a very difficult time with this change.  Not because it isn't a good thing, just because I have a hard time with change, period.

Don't say that Yahoo News! didn't warn  you, you have until January 31 to erase anything you don't want to remember, because timeline will take you back to the day you signed on to Facebook.

Facebook is the virtual home to more than 800 million active users, so any change to how the network operates is a big deal. And nothing could be bigger for the social hotspot than completely revamping everyone's front-facing profile page, and that is exactly what is happening today. Starting this morning, the new Timeline feature — that up until now has been an optional switch — is now mandatory.

Now, rather than showcasing only your most recent posts, your personal front page can be scrolled back months or years at a time.  The revamp can be both a blessing and a curse for seasoned social networkers, as it can produce a bit of pleasant nostalgia, but also drag up some of your less proud public moments.

Privacy is already a hot topic for Facebook users and the network's litany of sharing options can be difficult to navigate, even for the most experienced users. The company isn't oblivious to how the Timeline may drag up some unwanted past events, so a short buffer zone is in place to allow you to modify your online persona before making its new debut. You now have until Tuesday, January 31 to erase any past Facebook scars you'd prefer to hide.

Take some time to review your social networking history and don't hesitate to prune anything that you wouldn't want on the front page of a local newspaper, because as of right now, the clock is ticking.

Information via:  Yahoo News!