Instagram has finally answered everyone's prayers - they are launching a new feature that many have been begging for for a long time now.

The popular picture-sharing application will soon debut a handy mute button. That's right - you don't have to hurt someone's feelings by unfollowing them. Instead, you can just hide them from your feed for a bit.

Instagram announced the big tech news in a press release Tuesday, saying the change is "a new way to control what posts you see on Instagram." Here, you can prevent that person who overshares from showing up in your feed one more time but still technically "follow" them and keep the friendship alive. (This is 2018, after all.)

To mute an account, all you have to do is tap the menu in the corner of a post. (This looks like three dots.) Here you can choose to hide someone's posts or stories, or both if you so choose. You can achieve the same goal by pressing on a photo or story in your feed or from a profile.

You will still be able to see posts if you go to their personal profile and will still get notified if said person comments or posts on something you're tagged in, etc.

The good news is the person in question will never know that you muted them in the first place. If you have a change of heart, you can easily unmute the account and start seeing their posts again.

The mute button will first be rolled out to select users as a test over the next few weeks.

This news comes shortly after the app tested screenshot sharing. (You know, when you screenshot something to send to your best friend and it lets the user know you're creeping.) Thankfully, that is all in the past now.